Anmeldeformular Newslettertool


2022/10/09 - FIM Supersport World Championship 2022: Portuguese Round / Sunday's Race 2 Report

Race win No 13 of the season brings title defence one step closer

In what was hard to beat for excitement in terms of action on track, Dominique Aegerter set a new record for the most race wins in a season on Sunday in Portimao.

After Dominique Aegerter narrowly missed out on his first win at the Autódromo Internacional do Algarve in southern Portugal on Saturday afternoon, the 32-year-old had to pull out all the stops in the second race. Again and again, the Yamaha rider tried to outsmart Italian Federico Caricasulo in turn one. Each time he had to brake a few meters later than his opponent, but could not hold the line and Caricasulo slipped through again and again until the next turn. For the final lap, the experienced Swiss chose a different spot for his attack and immediately pulled away from his opponent by a few meters.

The Supersport World Championship now travels overseas for the final quarter of the season. In two weeks, the Circuito San Juan Villicum in the northwest of Argentina will be the third-to-last stop this year.

#77 Dominique AEGERTER (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha, Yamaha YZF R6)
Grid position: Pole / Race 2: WINNER

"I am very happy about my 13th win this season. But first I would like to thank the whole team. We delivered a great performance today. The race was fantastic and certainly it provided lots of excitement for the spectators again. There were again an incredible number of fights for positions, but mine with Caricasulo in particular must have been very exciting. On almost every lap I was at the absolute limit in turn one and tried to overtake him there. But I was not able to keep my line and he had a slight advantage in acceleration with his Ducati. I think this game lasted twelve or 13 laps. That is why I changed my tactics a bit for the last lap and overtook him at a different spot. That paid off in full because it allowed me to win the race. The 25 points are doubly valuable because we have extended our lead in the championship by a good step which was also our main goal for today. Everyone did a great job again and played their part. Starting with the whole team, all the sponsors, Yamaha and everyone else involved. It takes more than just me as a rider to be able to celebrate success like this."

"All these many battles were very exhausting today because especially you never knew which rider would overtake you on the straight due to so many slipstream battles there. In all other parts of the track, particularly in slow corners, a different riding style is required with the Ducati, the Triumph and the MV Agusta. They brake later but have advantages at the exit of the corners due to their torque, while I have more corner speed with the Yamaha. So, it was not so easy to prevail against these motorcycles. Nevertheless, this victory and the current points score do not change my attitude for the rest of the season. There are still six races to go, all in overseas, in different countries, at different tracks and in different conditions. I am not going to do anything other than to prepare as well as I can at home and create a good base for qualifying and the races during free practice sessions on Friday, so that we can fight for the podium or even for victory from the front row. After crossing Portimao off the list of tracks where I have not won yet, I am looking forward to San Juan in two weeks. I have very good memories of this track because a year ago we won the championship there. In 2022, I have not won a single race in the last four race weekends. Hopefully today was a turnaround. In the end, though, the most important thing is to win the title."

#PRTWorldSBK - WorldSSP Race 2 (17 Laps):
1 #77 Dominique AEGERTER / SWI / Ten Kate Racing Yamaha / Yamaha YZF R6 / 29´46.428

2 Raffaele DE ROSA / ITA / Orelac Racing Verdnatura WorldSSP / Ducati Panigale V2 / +0.501
3 Can ÖNCÜ / TUR / Kawasaki Puccetti Racing / Kawasaki ZX-6R / +0.625

WorldSSP Standing:
1 #77 Dominique AEGERTER / SWI / Yamaha / 374

2 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI / ITA / Yamaha / 329
3 Can ÖNCÜ / TUR / Kawasaki / 194